Newspaper Archive of
Walsh County Press
Park River , North Dakota
May 27, 2015     Walsh County Press
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
May 27, 2015

Newspaper Archive of Walsh County Press produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

THE WALSH COUNTY PRESS WEDNESDAY, MAY 27, 2015 Page 7 Above: Front row: (L to R) Ellisha Pastorek, Kayla Oq'oole, Kristy K]ose and Alex Iverson EDINBURG, N.D. --The-Valley-Edinburg National Hon- or Society held its annual induction ceremony for the new in- ductees on April 30, 2015. This year's Honor Society's Address was given by Pastor Patrick Torbit from the First Lutheran Church in Hoople. The musical selection was "Just A Single Photo: Submitted Estad, Danielle Durand, Alexandra Braathen. Back Row: Rebecca Voice" by the Valley-Edinburg High School Choir. The pres- ent members are Alex Iverson and Rebecca Klose who are now joined by this year's new inductees who are as follows: Alexandra Braathen, Kristy Estad, Danielle Durand, Kayla O'Toole and Ellisha Pastorek. from bottom left: Rylan Esten Beneda, Michael Durkin, Alexis Tatum, Ryan Thompson, Bethany Brumbaugh, Hope Jehlicka, Jessica Johnson, and Julia Johnson. PARK RIVER, N.D. -- Polar Communications is pleased to an- nounce its 2015 scholarship and award recipients. John G. Waiters Scholarship This year Polar awarded five $1,000 scholarships in honor of former General Manager John G. Waiters. The awards are given to out- standing high school seniors whose parents or guardians are current subscribers of Polar Communica- tions or its subsidiaries. Applicants are judged on essay content, gram- mar, academic achievement and community involvement. This year's winners are Esten Beneda - Fordville- Lankin High School, Michael Durkin - Midway High School, Rylan SetnesS - Park North B0rder-Pembina High School, Ryan Thompson - Lakota High School. Photos: Submitted Left: Scholarship recipients: Hannah Swat=, Rylan Setness, Amber Gillespie. Right: Girls State Delegates: Erin.Kovan Jessica Johnson, Emily Laaveg, Peyton Cole, Olivia Novak, Julia Johnson. PARK RIVER, N.D. -- Park granted to Rylan Setness, Amber stipulations to the Auxiliary before Girls State will be held on June River American Legion Auxil- Gillespie, and Hannah Swartz her death. 7th-12th, 2015 at the University of iary awarded two honors on Park Girls State Delegates include At a meeting held July 1, 1960, North Dakota. River Area's Senior High Awards Peyton Cole, Jessica Johnson, Ju- members voted to use stock divi- At ALA Girls State, citizens are Day a scholarship award and del- lia Johnson, Erin Kovarik, Emily dend payments to send girls to divided into cities, two cities form egates to Girls State. Laaveg and Olivia Novak. Girls State and delegates to State a county, and all counties combine Park River American Legion Irene Farup Hanson had do- Convention. to create the mock state of Flick- Auxiliary Scholarship Award was nated 60 shares of stock without American Legion Auxiliary ertail Girls State. Every Hero Has a Story: PARK RIVER, N,D. -- Readers of all ages will explore all things tmderground this summer as Park River Public Library presents "Eveiy Hero Has a Story" during their sun'uner library program. Activities may include costume creation, group games, physical challenges, art projects, science and engineering experiments and more The 2015 Summer Reading Program is open to young people, preschool through young adult. with progrmns, prize dm 4ngs, story times, a read- ing club and more. Families are invited to join the Read-to-me portion of the program. "Every Hero Has a Story" begins on June 8. For more information, call the library at 284-6116. All pro- grams are free of charge. Have you read thetoday? Start or renew your subscription: In.County $34 / Out.of.County $38 / Out.of.State $42 P.O. Box 49, Park River, ND 58270 FORDVILLE, N.D.- On May Connor Hodek gave a demon- 17 at 7:00 p.m. the Seven Rustlers stration on "How to Fish". The next held their monthly meeting. The meeting will be held on June 14 at pledges were said and the roll call 7:00 at the Matejcek Dmn was taken. Secretary's report was read. The 4-H club discussed "Editor's Note: Seven Rustler's about judging and the cleaning list news was submitted by Pare was given to each member, k3"atchovil. wcpadvertising@g nail : .com ' i ! i t-m= ~ mm m= =m ~ mmm-i Polar Leadership Scholarship The Leadership Scholarship is sponsored by Polar Communica- tions, in cooperation with its retired employees. This scholarship is awarded to a student who is involved in their school, serves their com- munity, achieves leadership roles in activities, functions or organiza- tions, and strives to reach their highest potential. Consideration is also given to any work or internship experience outside of school. Ap- plicants must be a senior in high school or freshman or sophomore in college, and their parents or guardians must be Polar customers. The recipient of the 2015 Polar Leadership Scholarship in the amount of $2,000 is being awarded to Bethany Brumbaugh of Cavalier, North Dakota. Bethany is current- ly a freshman at LIND, majoring in psychology. Foundation for Rural Service Scholarship The Foundation for Rural Serv- ice (FRS) offers an annual college scholarship program to students from rural America for their first year of college, university, or vocation- al-technical school. Each student is sponsored by an NTCA member company. This year's recipients are Hope Jehlicka of Fordville, North Dako- ta, and Alexis Tatmn of Neche, North Dakota. Hope is receiving $2,500 with $2,000 coming from FRS and $500 from the sponsoring company, which is Polar in this case. Alexis is receiving $3,000 from FRS. The FRS College Scholarship Progrmn seeks to encourage students to return to their rural communities upon completing their education. Foundation for Rural Service Youth Tour Each year, in collaboration with NTCA member companies, FRS brings rural students from across the United States to Washington, DC, for a four-day tour of some of the most historical sites in the nation. This year's tour is May 30th - June 3rd. While there, students also learn about the telecommunications in- dustry, as well as the regulatory and legislative processes. Educational sessions on these topics are greatly enhanced by site visits to the U.S. Capitol and the FCC to meet with in- dustry leaders and members of Photos: Submitted Congress. The students also are given ample time to explore the na- tion's capital mad its many attractions. Polar is proud to spoltsor three lo- cal students.this year; Abbie Watkins, Jessica Johnson and Julia Johnson.