Newspaper Archive of
Walsh County Press
Park River , North Dakota
April 22, 2015     Walsh County Press
PAGE 8     (8 of 14 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 8     (8 of 14 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
April 22, 2015

Newspaper Archive of Walsh County Press produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

Page 8 THE WALSH COUNTY PRESS WEDNESDAY, APRIL 22, 2015 Photos: Submitted Left: Outstanding 4-H&apos;ers: Abby Zikmund, Becky Nelson. Center: Walsh County 4-H Leader Recognition: First Row- Sue Brummond (10 yrs), Faye Ramsey (15 yrs), Charlotte Klose (10 yrs), Cordne Bell (5 yrs) Second Row: Travis Bell (5 yrs), Todd Knudson (25 yrs), Jan Benoda (20 yrs), Angie Schroeder (5 yrs) Right: Danforth Leadership Recipients- Kaitlyn Nelson, Tim Hodek, Emily Zikmund. Walsh 4-H celebrates the 2014 dub year with Variety Show, Awards Day PARK RIVER, ND-- The an- nual Walsh County 4-H Variety Show and Awards Day was held on Sunday, April 12th at.the Park River City Hall. 4-H'ers Tim Hodek, Fairdale, and Becky Klose, Hoople, emceed the event, which included two 4-H clubs presenting fun and unique skits. The Walsh Winners 4-H club were spot on in their synchronized swimming skit and the Made in the USA Kids 4- H "barnyard animals" were charm- hag with their rendition of aflerhours life in the county fair barns. The Walsh Comaty 4-H Ambas- sadors updated the audience on the new 4-H state camping opportuni- ties and cajoled audience members into participating in some minute- to-win-it-games for additional en- tertainment. Jacqi Zikmund, Pisek, Walsh County 4-H Council Presi- dent presented the Outstanding 4- H members and Outstanding 4-H Club awards. The following award winners were announced during the Variety Show: OUTSTANDING 4-H MEM- BERS: Abigail Ziknmnd, Pisek, and Becky Klose, Hoople. OUTSTANDING 4-H CLUBS: Flatlanders, Seven Rustlers, Walsh Winners and the Made in the USA Kids. The Flatlanders are led by Lori Zahradka, Lawton, Susie Left: Honoring First Year: Rrst Row: Brandon Houser, Owen Zikmund, Justin Pic, Connor Hodek, Mitch Shirelc Second Row: Julia Pic, Greta Wharam, Hannah Larson, Clover Gi!lespie, Megan Larson, Greta Schuster, Killian Burrell. Third Row:Sam Hagen, Claire Wharam, Simon Burrell, Bevan Rost, Galaddel Burrell, Grace Burrell. Center: Youth Conference Awardees: First Row: Sandra Kjelland, Sara Hodek. Second Row: Emily Laaveg, Toby Zikmund, Sydney Beneda Right: Top Notch- First Row: Sandra Kjelland, Salh Nelson, Justin Klose. Second Row: Sydney Beneda, Beatrice Kjelland, Kaitlyn Nelson, Sara Hodek, Rachel K]ose, Becky Klose. Third Row: Gretchen Brummond, Mikayla Fingarson, Emily Laaveg, Andrew Brummond, Kdsten Larson, Tim Hodek. Beneda, Lankin, and Loft Temquist, Michigan. The Walsh Winners are led by Becky and Brent Nelson, Grafton and Faye Ramsey, Sue Brummond, Arma Ramsey, Marlys Kjelland, and Megan Ramsey, all of Park River and the Made in the USA Kids are led by Jaqci and Julie Ziknmnd, both of Pisek, and Helen Zikmund, Minto. YOUTH CONFERENCE DEL- EGATES: Sara Hodek, Fairdale; Sydney Beneda, Lankin; Emily Laaveg, Park River; Toby Zik- mund, Pisek; and Sandra Kjel- land, Park River KEY CLUB AWARD WIN- Narloch, DrytOrrnt'JeryNrp@qL:*iBwcky d4tose, Hoople; er, Graflon. The Seven Rustlers are and Esten Beneda, Lankin led by Todd Knutson, Dahlen, Jon DANFORTH LEADERSHIP Ignoring Identity Theft ,WILL NOT MAKE IT GO AWAY AWARD: Emily Zikmund, Pisek, Kaitlyn Nelson, Graflon; and Tim Hodek; Fairdale ND 4-H CAMP: Kaleb Hodny, Lankin; Hailey Narloch, Drayton Zach Zikmund, Pisek; and Annah Zikmund, Minto MINNEAPOLIS TRIP: Emily Zikmund, Pisek; Taylor and Trevor Knudson, Dahlen; Becky Klose, Hoople; and Bailey Beneda, Lankin. AEROSPACE CAMP: Hailey Narloch, Drayton and Annah Zik- mund, Minto TOP NOTCH 4-H'ERS: .Re- ceiving Top Notch plaques for the first time are Andrew Myrdal, Ed- inburg; Greta Schuster, Graffon; Hailey Narloch, Drayton; Owen Zikmund, Pisek; and Connor Hodek, Fordville. Others receiving the awards in- clude: Bailey Beneda, Esten Bene- da, Sydney Beneda, Emily Zik- round, Andrew Brummond, Eva Sobak, Taylor Knudson, Trevor Knudson, Rachel Klose, Kaitlyn Nelson, Gretchen Brummond, Emi- ly Laaveg, Annah Zikmund, Becky Klose, Sara Hodek, Mikayla Fin- garson, Toby Zikmund, Seth Nel- son, Sandra Kjelland, Beatrice Kjelland, Tim Hodek, Justin Klose; Zach Zikmund; Jonah Zikmund; and Kristen Larson. 4-H LEADERS RECOG- NIZED V, ,E:' Milestone"eai's: 1 st e{/13roni ie Award: Susan Narloch, Drayton; and Jenny Napier, Grafton. 5th YeaffSilver Award: Corrine Bell, Travis Bell and Angie Schroeder. 10th Year/GoldAward: Sue Bmm- mond and Charlotte Klose. 15th Year/Pearl Award: Faye Rmnsey. 20th Year/Diamond Award: Jon Beneda, Lankin. 25th Year/Emer- aldAward: Todd Knudson, Dahlen. Other 4-H leaders include Lori Zahradka, Mark and Kori Hodek, Dave Haslekaas, Jacqi Zikmund, Megan Ramsey, Helen Zikmund, Shanna and Ian Foerster, Sally Larson, Julie Zikmund, Lori Tem- quist, Brent Nelson, Paul Klose, Jolmson. A huge thanks to these leaders and all Walsh County 4-H'ers for their wonderful accomplishments this year! Special thanks to Hanson Auto and Implement and True North Equipment both of Grafton for donating t-shirts to the 25 4-Her's who have completed one year of membership; the Walsh County Crop hnprovement Association for sponsoring the 4-H Top Notch Plaques and the following Walsh County Banks for donating t-shirts and awards for the 4-H Eeader Lori Beth bapa, raomi /ldal: ,toaognition- Wells Fargo Bank, SIi',"  ' Fgst United Bank, Gate City Bank, 'Malf" jeiiit['cky'NeKdn: Koda Bank, Bremer Bank, Citizen's New 4-H leaders include: Susan State Bank. \\; In thct, somconc is xqctimizcd by identity thcff a'eo, two ,wcon& Peace of mind costs just $2 per month. That's the pricc of ID ThcfiSma ti)rr First United Bank, a lm:>gram in which experts help you to put your identi' back in order if it is ever compromised. Hnd out more at lfrst United Bank toda},.: 900,000 barrels of oil 950,000 eyeballs on newspapers Yes, every day some 900,000 barrels, of oil are produced by North Dakota's 9,000-plus wells. That's more than Alaska, more than California, and more than Oklahoma. It's a figure surpassed by the number of eyeballs on our state's newspapers. Estimates are than 475,0-00 readers are looking through a newspaper. Ready for the' slick part? Most readers have two eyes. That means there are more than 950,000 eyeballs scanning the pages of North Dakota's finest dailies and weeklies. Coop In Park River -For the month of April- l For cars and light trucks-- Ca21 284,71600t or sto for more etails! ' I If you're aheady a reader of North Dakota newspapers, good for you! And if you're a North Dakota advertiser, rernember your best customers are keeping an eye out fo r you. Both otthem, in lhct. S)) Cp! e -Marketing .$'ourcem ..fmeric<m )piHi,m<'h. Dec. 2012 ND -.012/)ot)ulatitm 699.6.7," N]) t>tqz 18 I 545020 A'' ?ftotal/)rq> 615672 A'?,'6 q/I>op. INI 479618